Can't load `ES3 Default Settings.prefab` properly

Discussion and help for Easy Save 3
Post Reply
tunied
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Sep 06, 2017 7:27 am

Can't load `ES3 Default Settings.prefab` properly

Post by tunied »

Hi.

i download the last version (3.3.1f12) from asset store and import into a new project. i need use Obfuscator to encrypt my code. so i put all third part plugin in Plugins folder.

that will make ES3 project folder to `Plugins\Easy Save 3\xxxx`

but if i do that in Unity 2020.1.17(i don't is old version have the same issue or not.)

ES3Settings.cs line 228

Code: Select all

public static ES3DefaultSettings GetDefaultSettings()
{
	var go = Resources.Load<GameObject>("ES3/ES3 Default Settings");
        xxxxx
}
it try to load the ES3 Default Settings.prefab with Resources.Load. but maybe due to the assembly or other things . it seemed can't load that way. if the Resources folder is under Plugins folder.

so . i just put the ES3 Default Settings.prefab outside with ordinary `Resources` folder `Assets/Resources/ES3/ES3 Default Settings.prefab`

but in SettingsWindow.cs init funciton

Code: Select all

 (GameObject)AssetDatabase.LoadMainAssetAtPath(ES3EditorUtility.PathToDefaultSettings());
it try to locate the file with `ES3Window` file path.

so ,again . i have to change this line code with

Code: Select all

 defaultSettingsGo = (GameObject) AssetDatabase.LoadMainAssetAtPath("Assets/Resources/ES3/ES3 Default Settings.prefab");
it's not a big deal to me . everything work fine now. but i think maybe somebody will have the same issue like me.

so just wrote this to let you know.


Cheers

Eran
User avatar
Joel
Moodkie Staff
Posts: 4826
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2012 10:32 pm

Re: Can't load `ES3 Default Settings.prefab` properly

Post by Joel »

Hi there, and thanks for the information.

As this will be an issue with your Obfuscator rather than at our end, I recommend getting in touch with them to see if they are aware of this issue.

All the best,
Joel
Joel @ Moodkie Interactive
Purchase Easy Save | Contact | Guides | Docs | Getting started
tunied
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Sep 06, 2017 7:27 am

Re: Can't load `ES3 Default Settings.prefab` properly

Post by tunied »

Hi

it's not an issue with Obfuscator.

i think is the problem that put ES3 in Plugin folder.

what i do is

- create an empty project.

- download ES3 from asset store.

- put the Easy Save 3 folder under Plugins folder.

then i got the issue.
tunied
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Sep 06, 2017 7:27 am

Re: Can't load `ES3 Default Settings.prefab` properly

Post by tunied »

Hi i try to reproduce the bug .

but when i create a new project try to download the plugin , it already in Plugin folder :o

and i'm not get any error from the console .


maybe it's indeed conflict with my other plugins.

so just please ignore the post .

thanks. :D :D :D :D
tunied
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Sep 06, 2017 7:27 am

Re: Can't load `ES3 Default Settings.prefab` properly

Post by tunied »

ok i found the the bug. and it 100% reproduce.

ES3 is not compatible with Odin.

1` create a new project
2` import ES3.
3` import Odin
4` close unity
5` reopen unity.

when first import the two plugin . everything is fine. but when reopen unity . it will repeatedly show error message.

because ES3Postprocessor update function try to get refMgr. which request ES3DefaultSettings.

but with Odin plugin install . this line code can't load default setting . no mater it's under Plugin folder or not.

Code: Select all

public static ES3DefaultSettings GetDefaultSettings()
{
	var go = Resources.Load<GameObject>("ES3/ES3 Default Settings");
	...	
}
User avatar
Joel
Moodkie Staff
Posts: 4826
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2012 10:32 pm

Re: Can't load `ES3 Default Settings.prefab` properly

Post by Joel »

Hi there,

Sorry, I'm not sure how what you're quoting relates to Odin? We've had no other reports of this, and we have quite a few users using Odin.

If the Resources.Load call is not working despite the path being valid, then this would suggest an issue at Unity's end (as we're following Unity's specification exactly). Please could you private message me a project which replicates this so I can see what is happening?

All the best,
Joel
Joel @ Moodkie Interactive
Purchase Easy Save | Contact | Guides | Docs | Getting started
Post Reply