Saving and Loading Entire Scene

Discussion and help for Easy Save 3
Zodsmar

Saving and Loading Entire Scene

Post by Zodsmar »

I am new to Easy save and I am trying to save and load entire scenes.
Background:
I am building a fun small little game (literally for itch just for fun) and it's a grid-based builder game. The player uses the mouse and based on where they click an object can be spawned. At one point I want to be able to save all of those object positions (Which I am doing with the prefab and auto save). Once I do that save I place a few more prefabs around and then want to load back to my previous spot (So destroy anything new from the previous save and essentially reset the scene to exactly how it was when I saved).

I want to be able to do this because once I hit save (In Freeplay mode) I want to have those save files as Levels (Basically I can build game levels and save them to a file) Then on the main menu Scene (Different scene), I want to be able to load a previous save into a new scene.

I am not sure if this is possible, but currently, I have it working that I can save. Stop the unity editor. Play hit load and it loads what I had placed. If I keep placing (while still active and load) it doesn't delete new stuff. The idea behind the save is that I can then rename the different saves to level1.es3, etc. then load each level.

Any help would be appreciated.
Joel
Moodkie Staff

Re: Saving and Loading Entire Scene

Post by Joel »

Hi there,
Once I do that save I place a few more prefabs around and then want to load back to my previous spot (So destroy anything new from the previous save and essentially reset the scene to exactly how it was when I saved).
Generally you would do this you would keep track of what objects you have added since you last saved (i.e. List of objects). You can then iterate through this list and delete the objects.

All the best,
Joel
Joel @ Moodkie Interactive
Purchase Easy Save | Contact | Guides | Docs | Getting started