Problem with loading when changing data in Scriptable Objects

Discussion and help for Easy Save 3
Post Reply
RootGames
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2024 1:47 pm

Problem with loading when changing data in Scriptable Objects

Post by RootGames »

Hi!

I have a weird problem or behaviour with loading. I have a class that has some data, some of which is provided by Scriptable Object. After I populate the data, I save the whole class. All data has a public access modifier or [SerializeField] attribute. I close the Editor, and then start the game. The data is loaded perfectly.
However, if I again close the game, and then change the Sprite variable in the Scriptable Object that provides data for the class, and start the game again, the class will have a null reference for the Sprite variable. This is the warning I get:
Reference for UnityEngine.Sprite with ID 2997496644205456503 could not be found in Easy Save's reference manager. If you are loading objects dynamically (i.e. objects created at runtime), this warning is expected and can be ignored.
I want that new Sprite from the Scriptable Object to load into the class where the old one sprite was.
Is this normal, because if I want to update my game and change some sprites on Scriptable Objects, this would be a problem, right?
User avatar
Joel
Moodkie Staff
Posts: 4848
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2012 10:32 pm

Re: Problem with loading when changing data in Scriptable Objects

Post by Joel »

Hi there,

You can find information on this here:
https://docs.moodkie.com/easy-save-3/es ... nd-warning

All the best,
Joel
Joel @ Moodkie Interactive
Purchase Easy Save | Contact | Guides | Docs | Getting started
RootGames
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2024 1:47 pm

Re: Problem with loading when changing data in Scriptable Objects

Post by RootGames »

First, thanks for the quick reply.
Everything works fine now, I was doing something wrong.
The asset is superb, going to give it 5 stars on the Asset store.
User avatar
Joel
Moodkie Staff
Posts: 4848
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2012 10:32 pm

Re: Problem with loading when changing data in Scriptable Objects

Post by Joel »

Glad you managed to resolve your issue, and thanks for the kind review :)
Joel @ Moodkie Interactive
Purchase Easy Save | Contact | Guides | Docs | Getting started
Post Reply