Page 1 of 1

Loading sprite when using more then one scene.

Posted: Fri May 31, 2019 11:40 pm
by davidlim
Hello, I have an issue trying to save and load sprites.

I have a scene in which I save the tiles of a tilemap and load them according to the player position, this works, I get the sprite data:
Image
as seen in this gif
https://i.imgur.com/iPRN7z4.gifv

The problom is when I load this scene as part of a different scene (with loadSceneAsync)
all of the tile sprite data are null
Image

Now I can only assume this is happening due the the sprite ref already existing in the first scene for some reason, the question Is how do I load the sprite then as I do not want to save the actual image for each tile but just the correct ref.

Re: Loading sprite when using more then one scene.

Posted: Sat Jun 01, 2019 10:57 am
by Joel
Hi there,

Just to confirm, are you using Easy Save 2 or Easy Save 3? This sounds like it's an Easy Save 3 question, but it appears to be in the Easy Save 2 forum.

All the best,
Joel

Re: Loading sprite when using more then one scene.

Posted: Sat Jun 01, 2019 1:39 pm
by davidlim
Ops, Ya I I'm using EasySave3, Should I open a new thread or can you move it ?

Re: Loading sprite when using more then one scene.

Posted: Sun Jun 02, 2019 8:01 am
by Joel
No problem, I've moved it :)

I'm not sure why your Sprite isn't loading as the reference manager should be merged with the new one. Would you be able to PM me a basic project and instructions to replicate it?

All the best,
Joel

Re: Loading sprite when using more then one scene.

Posted: Tue Jun 25, 2019 12:26 am
by Kokorozashi
Same behavior for me. I'm using a 'do not destroy on load' script for a lot of UI items which are shared between the start menu and any given scene. I didn't actually notice it was an issue with ES3 and loading scenes additive until I saw the title of this thread. After noticing that, I slapped a 'do not destroy on load' script on the Easy Save 3 Manager on my initial scene and it fixed the Sprites = null issue. Hopefully that helps narrow down the repro steps for this bug.

That was a big headache solved. Thanks!

Re: Loading sprite when using more then one scene.

Posted: Tue Jun 25, 2019 5:21 pm
by Joel
Thanks for the info. Hopefully this helps someone, as I've still not been able to replicate this at my end.

All the best,
Joel