Cannot Load data using Playmaker

Discussion and help for Easy Save 3
Shizane

Cannot Load data using Playmaker

Post by Shizane »

Hi,

I'm new to ES. I use Playmaker and I'm just trying to setup a simple save/load of a Float value. I tried to follow a couple of your PM guides but to no such luck.

I have it working with regards to adding a float, setting it, displaying it in GUI and according to the ES load and save it's displaying there at runtime, but when I stop and hit play again, it's not saving. I have the ES Manager in the scene as well.

Does the object in the scene need to be a prefab?

I've included some screenshots.

Thanks!
Shizane
Attachments
Screenshot 2022-06-10 111036.jpg
Screenshot 2022-06-10 111036.jpg (112.61 KiB) Viewed 1475 times
Screenshot 2022-06-10 111054.jpg
Screenshot 2022-06-10 111054.jpg (130.08 KiB) Viewed 1475 times
Screenshot 2022-06-10 111110.jpg
Screenshot 2022-06-10 111110.jpg (161.61 KiB) Viewed 1475 times
Joel
Moodkie Staff

Re: Cannot Load data using Playmaker

Post by Joel »

Hi there,

There is an error in your logic. Your Save state will only be called if data exists (as it comes after the 'Exists' event), but data can only exist if your Save state gets called. This means it's impossible for the Save or Load state to ever be triggered in your example.

All the best,
Joel
Joel @ Moodkie Interactive
Purchase Easy Save | Contact | Guides | Docs | Getting started
Shizane

Post by Shizane »

Hey Joel thanks for the reply.

I guess I'm not sure what you mean. The data does exist, in this case a float of 50 and it shows "50" in the Save action.

Before I did this I actually even had the Save action on the same state as the Set float but still doesnt seem to fire. :|

I also just tried a couple of your PM examples, nameley the sphere transform. I moved and scaled it at runtime, stopped and hit play again and it's still in the same default size/position.

I do get this warning though: