save location not working

Easy Save 2 has been replaced by Easy Save 3, so is no longer supported.
frostamation

save location not working

Post by frostamation »

Im new to using easysave, still trying to get everything figured out. After a few hours of trial and error I still can not seem to save an int to a file. I have the "easy save default settings" prefab in my scene with C:/Users/User/Saves/ set as the default save location. When i try to save the data i get an error in unity of "UnauthorizedAccessException: Access to the path "C:\Users\User" is denied."

Now all im trying to do is create a simple save, in any location really, but after reading the documentation and google i still can not figure it out. any help appreciated, thanks!
Joel
Moodkie Staff

Re: save location not working

Post by Joel »

Hi there,

We strongly advise that you only save to the default save path (i.e. only specify a filename) as this is the only place which is guaranteed to exist and have the correct security privileges. You can output the location of this path to console using this line of code:
Debug.Log(Application.persistentDataPath);
If you need to save to an absolute path, the error you're getting denotes that you don't have security privileges for where you want to save, or that location doesn't exist, or can not be created. If you're literally using the path C:/Users/User/Saves/ and you're not replacing the User part with a particular username, then this is probably your problem.

Hope this helps!

All the best,
Joel
frostamation

Post by frostamation »

So in the "default PC data path:" i should leave this box blank/type in only xyz.txt? If so where would this save the .txt file at, im using playmaker so i cant type in the debug line because playmaker only has the regular debug.log action.
Joel
Moodkie Staff

Post by Joel »

You should leave the 'Default PC data path' entirely blank, and only specify a filename when saving/loading. For example, this code: